Hundreds of Cases Successfully Handled
Although theft of a lottery ticket can seem like any other type of theft out there, it is punished significantly more harshly than simple theft charges. In Iowa, theft of a lottery ticket is a class D felony, putting you at risk of up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $10,245, plus surcharges and court costs associated with the conviction. If you were charged with this crime, make sure you have a skilled Des Moines theft crime lawyer fighting for you.
Schedule a free consultation with our team today by calling (515) 996-4441 or contacting us online.
Punishments for a Conviction
While all crimes are serious, theft of a lottery ticket is punished on the same level as felony child endangerment – strangulation, possession with intent to distribute, and theft of a motor vehicle. While it is generally charged when someone steals a whole box of lottery tickets, you could face felony sentencing for stealing a single $1.00 scratch ticket.
Set forth below is Iowa Code Section 99G.36(1), which states the following regarding theft/fraud of a lottery ticket in Iowa:
“Any person who with the intend to defraud, falsely makes, alters, forges, utters, passes, redeems, or counterfeits a lottery ticket or share or attempts to falsely make, alter, forge, utter pass, redeem, or counterfeit a lottery ticket or share, or commits theft or attempts to commit theft of a lottery ticket or share, is guilty of a class D felony.”
Schedule a Free Consultation Right Away
Theft of a lottery is not punished lightly here in Iowa, and you deserve the best chance at a successful, hopeful future. If you were charged with this crime, it is crucial that you have a chance to tell your side of the story and clear yourself of the charges. With hundreds of cases handled, Feld Law Firm is confident in our ability to represent you and help you get the best possible result for your case.
Call (515) 996-4441 now to get started on your free consultation.
Honest and Straight Forward Guidance
Not Afraid to go to Trial
Hundreds of Cases Handled
Polk County Simple Misdemeanors Starting as low as $1000