Sex Crime Defense Attorney in Des Moines
Polk County Criminal Defense Representation
In Iowa, it is illegal for anyone over the age of 16 to have sexual relations with any person less than 16 years of age, with a few exceptions.
- The two parties are married
- The two parties are within four years of age of one another (if the younger person is 14 or 15 years of age)
Regardless, just being charged with a sex crime can cause you to lose your job and likely ruin relationships you have built. If convicted, you will likely be required to register as a sex offender. Further, you will likely be required to participate in sex offender treatment classes. You may also be on parole for life in addition to possible chemical castration. Furthermore, you may be required to keep out of schools, daycare facilities, and other places where children gather if the sex crime is against a child. As you can imagine, this is a horrible crime to be suspected of committing in Iowa. If you are charged with sexual abuse in any degree, you will be required to register as a sex offender and be required to complete sex offender treatment classes.
To mitigate or avoid these harsh consequences, retain the Des Moines sex crime defense attorney at Feld Law Firm. At our firm, we have extensive experience representing individuals in situations like yours. No matter how severe the charges may seem, rest assured we have the skill and determination to help you achieve a favorable resolution.
Give us a call at (515) 996-4441 to get started on your case with a free consultation.
You may have heard someone tell you that they were convicted of indecent exposure for urinating in their backyard. For this to be true, a few other events had to occur.
Under Iowa law, one must expose himself/herself to someone other than their spouse, or commit a sex act in the presence of a third person, and have one of the following occur:
- The sex act or exposure must arouse at least one party that is present
- The person knows or reasonably should know that this act is offensive to the viewer (for this to occur the person has to know of the specific viewer)
This is a very tricky area where one could misinterpret the law and possibly plead guilty to a crime they did not commit. Sex crimes are not the type of crimes you want to just plead to "by accident." Indecent exposure is a serious misdemeanor for which you could face up to one year in jail and up to a $1,875 fine. It is an aggravated misdemeanor – which is punishable by two years and a fine up to $6,250 – if a person 18 years of age or older touches a child inappropriately, as defined by Iowa law. It should be noted that a person would be required to register as a sex offender and be required to complete the sex offender treatment program. If you have clean criminal history, you may be able to receive a deferred judgment in this type of matter where it can be expunged from your record.
Talk to Feld Law Firm Today
It is a good idea to retain a Des Moines sex crime defense attorney when charged with a crime like this to ensure the facts of your case are thoroughly reviewed. In certain situations, you may be required to register as a sex offender, or go through further sex offender treatment should you already be on the registry. These types of crimes are not something you want on your record, as family members and friends tend to disown you. Feld Law Firm can protect your rights and provide you with a strategy to fight your case.
Should you have any questions regarding Iowa sex crime laws, do not hesitate to contact us at (515) 996-4441.
Honest and Straight Forward Guidance
Not Afraid to go to Trial
Hundreds of Cases Handled
Polk County Simple Misdemeanors Starting as low as $500
Felony Burglary & Criminal Mischief Penalty Reduced
Possession of Controlled Substance Case Dismissed
Theft Not Guilty
OWI Case Dismissed
OWI Penalty Reduced
OWI Case Dismissed
Patient Abuse Not Guilty