Harassment Defense Attorney in Des Moines
Calculated & Effective Defense Strategies
Have you been arrested for or charged with harassment in Iowa? It is in your best interest to retain a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense attorney. At Feld Law Firm, our harassment defense lawyer in Des Moines has extensive experience representing Polk County residents against this type of charge.
Do not hesitate to contact us online or at (515) 996-4441 to schedule your free consultation.
Iowa Harassment Law
Under Iowa law, there are three classes of harassment. There is first-degree harassment, which is an aggravated misdemeanor; second-degree harassment, which is a serious misdemeanor; and third-degree harassment, which is a simple misdemeanor. Penalties are significant and can include prison time and fines.
Being charged with either first- or second-degree harassment is very serious because you are being accused of a crime in which the state is claiming you are threatening death, serious injury, or bodily injury upon another person.
Although third-degree harassment is not pretty on your record, having either first- or second-degree harassment on your record can cost you your chance to get certain employment. This is because the charges entail threatening violence upon another, which is obviously not what an employer is looking for in an employee. Third-degree harassment essentially means you are being annoying to another without a legitimate purpose to do so. It also means any other form of harassment that is not either first- or second-degree harassment.
Penalties for Harassment
In regard to penalties, first-degree harassment carries up to two years in prison and a $8,540 fine. Second-degree harassment carries up to one year of incarceration and up to a $2,560 fine. Third-degree harassment carries up to 30 days in jail and up to a $855 fine. The minimum fine for first-degree harassment is $855. The minimum fine for second-degree harassment is $430. There is an additional 15% surcharge on top of the fines and $100 court costs. Remember: This is just the minimum fine for each offense.
Types of Harassment
In Iowa, there are numerous types of harassment that one can be charged with.
A person commits harassment when, with intent to intimidate, annoy, or alarm another person, the person:
- Communicates with another by telephone, writing, or electronic communication without legitimate purpose and in a manner likely to cause the other person annoyance or harm
- Orders merchandise or services in the name of another, or to be delivered to another, without the person's knowledge or consent.
- Reports or causes to be reported false information to a law enforcement authority implicating another in some criminal activity, knowing that the information is false, or reports the alleged occurrence of a criminal act, knowing the act did not occur.
- Has personal contact with another person with the intent to threaten, intimidate, or alarm that other person. ("Personal contact" means when at least two people are within physical proximity to each other. It does not require touching or oral communication).
Harassment in the first degree occurs when the person threatens a forcible felony upon another person or has previously been convicted of harassment three or more times.
Harassment in the second degree occurs when the person threatens bodily injury upon another person or the person has previously been convicted of harassment two or more times.
Harassment in the third degree is any other form of harassment.
Consult with Feld Law Firm
Being accused of this crime is very serious and you should not handle these matters alone. It is a good idea to hire a Des Moines harassment defense attorney to protect your rights and your life. It could be the difference between you saving your job and you going into a financial hole.
Discuss your case with Feld Law Firm by calling (515) 996-4441.
Why Feld Law Firm is the Right Choice?
Honest and Straight Forward Guidance
Not Afraid to go to Trial
Hundreds of Cases Handled
Polk County Simple Misdemeanors Starting as low as $1000
Call us today at 515-996-4441 for a free consultation. We will be happy to discuss your matter.
Our Recent Case Results
Felony Burglary & Criminal Mischief Penalty Reduced
Possession of Controlled Substance Case Dismissed
Patient Abuse Not Guilty
Theft Not Guilty
OWI Case Dismissed
OWI Penalty Reduced
OWI Case Dismissed
OWI second Offense and 3 counts of Child Endangerment Case Dismissed
Possession of substance Dismissed